Browse: Collections Creators Subjects Repositories Digital Collections
Log In | Contact Us | View List (0)

Canoga Park High School (1914-1957) | Special Collections & Archives

Name: Canoga Park High School (1914-1957)


Historical Note:

Canoga Park High School (CPHS) is the oldest high school in the west San Fernando Valley. It opened with 14 students and 2 teachers on October 4, 1914. CPHS was originally named Owensmouth High School. In 1914, CPHS was located on the second floor of Owensmouth Grammar School. The first graduation on the campus of Owensmouth High School occurred in June 1916. The graduating class consisted of two students, Edith Haas and Solly H. Patrick. On September 11, 1916, Owensmouth High started the school year with a new building and a new location at 6850 Topanga Canyon Blvd. in Canoga Park. Included in the new campus was an open air theater known as the Greek Theater which served as a venue for entertainment, plays and commencements.

On June 12, 1929, a fire destroyed the upper floor of the school. The left and right wings remained in use, but bungalows were required until the completion of new buildings in early 1931. In 1931, the town of Owensmouth changed its name to Canoga Park and the school was also renamed Canoga Park High School. In 1953, the Greek Theater was torn down to make room for a physical education field and in 1971 an earthquake destroyed many of its original iconic buildings. New air conditioned structures opened in 1978. The mascot for the school is a hunter and their sports teams are known as the Hunters.






Page Generated in: 0.084 seconds (using 107 queries).
Using 5.85MB of memory. (Peak of 5.92MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21
Copyright ©2011 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign