Browse: Collections Creators Subjects Repositories Digital Collections
Log In | Contact Us | View List (0)

Wylie, Ruth Shaw (1916-1989) | Special Collections & Archives

Name: Wylie, Ruth Shaw (1916-1989)

Historical Note: Ruth Shaw Wylie was a flautist, pianist, professor, and composer. She composed her first piece, Suite for Orchestra, in 1940. During her career she composed over 50 pieces including ballet, chamber, piano, choral, and orchestral music. From 1960-1969 she taught music at Wayne State University where she served as Chair of the Music Department and Head of Composition. In 1965, she founded and directed the University Improvisation Chamber Ensemble, which performed concerts throughout the Midwest. In 1975, she won a commission from the Michigan Council of Arts to compose a piece for the Detroit Women's Chamber Orchestra in celebration of the nation's bicentennial.
Sources: Aaron I. Cohen. International Encyclopedia of Women Composer. 2nd ed. rev. and enlarged. 1987. Julie Ann Sadie, Rhian Samuel, eds. New Grove dictionary of Women Composers. 1994.
Note Author: Tony Gardner

Page Generated in: 0.071 seconds (using 107 queries).
Using 5.86MB of memory. (Peak of 5.93MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21
Copyright ©2011 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign